How To Get Your Suspended Driver’s License Reinstated In Connecticut
License Restoration Online Payments
PLEASE READ ALL THE INFORMATION BELOW BEFORE MAKING YOUR ONLINE PAYMENT
Welcome to the DMV Driver Services secured online payment system. This service will allow you to pay restoration and other fees related to a suspension of a driver license or driving privilege. Check your suspension notice for additional requirements.
After your online payment is submitted, restoration notice processing time can take up to 10 business days.
- This online system allows you to make certain payments. The payment receipt is NOT a driver license or restoration notice. Check ct.gov/dmv/licensecheck to verify your license is restored.
- You may have additional requirements and may be required to submit additional documents.You can e-mail documents to: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Your driving history must be reviewedby the DMV’s Driver Services Division before any restoration notice or permit can be issued.
Fees that can be paid online
- $175.00 Restoration fee: for suspension of driver license, nonresident driving privilege, or privilege to obtain a license.
- $175.00 Restoration fee: for Commercial Driver License (CDL) disqualification.
- $175.00 restoration fee: for Public Service Endorsement (PPE) suspension.
- $100.00 IID Administration fee: for Ignition Interlock (IID) program.
- $100.00 nonrefundable Special Operator Permit application fee: for work and/or education permits.
- Pay with your credit card – Discover, MasterCard, or Visa using our secured site.
- Name of the individual who owes the fee(s).
- Date of birth.
- License, ID, or case number as it appears on the Connecticut driving history.
- Current return mailing address. If your address has changed, and you have not reported it to DMV, please follow these instructions.
- A valid e-mail address and phone number.
- Billing information for the credit card used to make the payment.
- After completing your payment, be sure to print and keep a copy of your receipt for your records. A payment confirmation will also be sent by e-mail. Please remember, this is only a payment receipt. Check gov/dmv/licensecheck to verify your license is restored.
- Per Connecticut General Statute 14-50(f), whenever a payment of any fee to the DMV by means of a credit or debit card is rejected or dishonored, the DMV shall charge a fee of $35.00 for a payment amount of not more than $200.00, and a fee of 15% of any payment in excess of $200.00, plus all protest fees or charges. to cover the cost of the collection.
What Happens If Your License Is Suspended In CT?
If your license is suspended in the state of Connecticut, it is illegal for you to drive an automobile. If you do get caught driving during the period of time that your license is suspended, you can face serious consequences. As a first offender, you can be fined anywhere from $150-$200, as well as the possibility of up to 3 months in jail. Any subsequent offenses will result in more severe penalties.
In addition to fines and jail time, driving with a suspended license can also make it more challenging for you to restore your driving privileges. This may mean that you will have trouble getting your license back following your suspension, or even face revocation.
To avoid legal challenges associated with your license suspension, it is important that you speak with a qualified suspended license lawyer. This will ensure that you are functioning within the bounds of the law, and help you get back on the road as quickly as possible.
How Long Can Your License Be Suspended In CT?
License suspension timelines vary greatly depending on the nature of your situation. In some cases, license suspensions only last 48 hours, while in others they can last for 6 months. With this in mind, it can be noted that periods of suspension in Connecticut typically range from 30 to 90 days. In cases where you are caught driving with an already suspended license, punishments are likely to compound, potentially resulting in suspension that can extend well beyond a year.
The charges that result in a suspended license will determine how long you have until the restriction is over. By working with an experienced lawyer, you will be able to gather all of the information pertaining to the timeline of your suspension, and what you need to do to get on a path toward reinstatement.
How Do You Get Around When Your License Is Suspended?
Given that it is a crime to drive in Connecticut with a suspended license, it is recommended that you find alternative means of transportation in order to avoid further charges. The best way to get around with a suspended license is by:
- Carpooling with friends and family
- Using public transportation, such as busses and trains
- Using a taxi service
- Walking and biking
Connecticut also offers an option to obtain a special use permit. This may allow you to drive under specific circumstances while your license is suspended. Special use permits enable individuals to drive for work-related purposes, to receive ongoing medical treatments, and to take exams and attend classes at higher-education institutions.
You must keep the special use permit with you while you are driving at all times, and follow the restrictions associated with it. Additionally, if you wish to drive outside of Connecticut, you must first check with law enforcement in that state. Misusing your permit, receiving a traffic conviction, or getting a new license suspension will result in the revocation of your permit and other penalties.
To see if you qualify for a special use permit, there are several factors to consider. Speak with the professionals at Steven A. Tomeo & Associates, LLC today to see how you can obtain your own special use permit!
What Can Cause Your License To Be Suspended In CT?
There are a variety of factors that can cause your license to be suspended in Connecticut. While some reasons may be specifically driving-related, there are other state laws that can be broken that may result in license suspension.
The most common reasons for license suspension in Connecticut include:
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Refusal to take a blood or alcohol test
- Excessive moving violations
- Driving without the proper insurance
- Unpaid property taxes
- Driving with no license or an already suspended license
- Money owed to the Department of Motor Vehicles
Checking the status of your license is the best way to see if it is suspended, and for how long. If you think your license is suspended, it is recommended that you speak with an adept legal representative about your situation. This will provide you with the clarity you need to mitigate any legal challenges you may be facing, and create viable strategies to get you safely driving again.
CONTACTING THE DRIVER SERVICES DIVISION AT THE DMV IN WETHERSFIELD, CONNECTICUT
Contact Driver Services Division
For questions concerning a license suspension and/or medical related issue, you may contact us by mail, e-mail, or telephone.
The normal processing time is 10 business days from the date the DMV’s Driver Services Division receives your correspondence via e-mail and/or mail.
Please provide your name, date of birth, and current mailing address with all correspondence. If your address has changed, you may complete and submit a change of address form.
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT. 06161-1013
Contact by phone
To speak to a live agent, you may call 860-263-5720 between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday. For general suspension and restoration information, our automated system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
DMV’s Easy Answers for Resolving a Suspension
There are no in-person transactions conducted at any office of the Department of Motor Vehicles for resolving a suspension. All transactions must be conducted by mail.
What to do:
- Submit a check or money order made payable to DMV in the amount of $175.00 at least two weeks prior to your eligibility date.
- Provide any necessary documents as noted in your suspension notice.
- Include your full name, date of birth and current mailing address. If your mailing address has recently changed, please complete a change of address form. Follow the instructions listed on the form.
What it will cost:
- $175.00 per each suspended item.
Suspension or restoration correspondence should be address to: Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Services Division 60 State Street Wethersfield, CT 06161 General suspension or restoration information is also available 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling our automated system at (860) 764-2744.
Please note: You are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle until you receive a restoration notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles informing you that your restoration has been processed and you possess a valid driver’s license.