Attention Clients

Our office is open and available for remote video and telephone consults. We are set up to represent you remotely VIA Zoom and are still here to help with your legal options during this time.

Steven A. Tomeo & Associates, LLC

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

(860) 764-2744

Steven A. Tomeo & Associates, LLC

Handling Out Of State DUI Offenses In Connecticut In this article, you can discover:

  • The importance of seeking legal representation for out-of-state drivers facing DUI charges in Connecticut
  • The requirements for attending court appearances in Connecticut for out-of-state drivers
  • How prior out-of-state DUI convictions can impact a DUI case in Connecticut

Can An Out-Of-State Driver Get Help For A DUI Arrest In Connecticut?

Yes, if you live in another state and you are facing a DUI charge in Connecticut, you can seek help from a Connecticut attorney. DUI charges can be complex, and having legal representation can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case.

Do I Need To Attend Every Court Appearance For My DUI Case In Connecticut?

Generally, you are required to appear in court every time your case is on the docket, unless the judge or prosecutor excuses you. If you are an out-of-state driver, the court may require you to be present for the initial court appearances, at least to enter a not guilty plea.

However, as your case progresses through the system, you may be excused from attending every court session, particularly if nothing significant is happening at that particular session.

How Do Prior Out-of-State DUI Convictions Impact My Connecticut DUI Case?

If you have prior DUI convictions from another state, Connecticut will count them. This means that if you are charged with a DUI in Connecticut, your prior out of state convictions will be taken into account as long as the out of state conviction is within 10 years of the CT DUI charge. Remember, to be counted by CT the out of state conviction statute for DUI, must be the same or similar to the CT DUI statute.

For instance, if you were convicted of DUI in Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York, or any other state, you will be treated as a second offender in Connecticut, even if it is your first offense in Connecticut.

As a result, a second offense in Connecticut is considered a felony, and the penalty can include two years in jail, of which 120 days may not be suspended. Therefore, it is crucial to have a skilled attorney by your side who can help you navigate the legal system and protect your rights.

For more information on Handling Out Of State DUI Offenses In CT, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling STEVEN A. TOMEO & ASSOCIATES AT (860) 764-2744 today!

STEVEN TOMEO, ESQ.
CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
(860) 764-2744